Below are some examples of Internet scams that may affect you as photographers. If you feel you have been a victim of a scam or have made a payment and are worried we recommend you contact the authorities as soon as possible. If you are aware or been a victim of other scams please let us know so we can warn others.
Things to look out for when determining whether a contact is a scam or genuine:
Typical scams we are aware of:
The following is a copy of enquiries sent to photographers where the individual asks for a price for photography plus expenses such as hotel costs and transport. As you can see it is in very broken English. it is likely that this would result in the enquirer sending a cheque for a higher amopunt than is requested and then asking for the balance to be sent to a thrird party to cover some other expense. Once this payment is sent to the third party, the original payment may be found to be fraudulent:
Good day, My name is MATT HARRIS,further to our wedding preparations between i and my fiance JOANNA in GLASGOW,(SCOTLAND) in the month of AUGUST.We are looking for agood photographer who will come and snapshoot our proposed event. We were highly impresed on your webpage and we hope to have the best of your services.At this time,we are leaving for Cardiff on a pre wedding honeymoon. We would require to have the list of your available dates between 4th -5th SEPTEMBER 2009.Let me know your charges for your services if you are to work for at most four Hours on that day. we require the below. :250 copies of photographs pictures taking :All colored :5 x 7 in size :2 Albums required The 250 copies covers the bride and the bridegroom, their parents,the officiating ministers and our guests.If you can out,we will pay the transportation charges to and from the party venue.Please indicate in your email if you can out,what it will costs either via Plane or through Car transport to GLASGOW,(SCOTLAND) and what amount you will receive working for the budgeted hours at the occasion. Moreso,please do calculate the total cost for working service and your transport fees down to the venue,don`t worry the Hotel accomodation will be provided for by us.Waiting to read from you soon as possible email me at (matt_harris49@yahoo.com). Best regards,
**Remember, if an offer seems too good to be true it generally
is!!
We are aware that some photographers have been contacted by
individuals with a view to scamming. Generally these are common
scams, a problem on many web sites and not limited to ourweddingmemories
or photographers.
The scammer will ask photographers what the charges would be
for an assignment abroad and say they will include with payment,
travel expenses, accommodation etc. and make payment up front.
If the photographer agrees to the proposal, the scammer makes
payment by cheque. As the scammer is based abroad, they will
generally mention that they owe a certain individual an amount
of money and as the photographers is based in the UK, they will
increase the amount by the said amount and ask the photographer
to send the balance by cheque to this third party.
Unfortunately the initial cheque will be a fraudulent payment
made using stolen cheques, the cheque will seem to be cleared
in your account and the funds able to be drawn on. However,
when the genuine account holder realises they have been a victim
they will contact their own bank and cancel the cheque. As the
payment was made fraudulently, the funds will then be returned
to the account holder.
The photographer will be out of pocket if they have sent a payment
to the third party. These funds cannot be reclaimed as payment
was made from the genuine account holder.
Our advice for any contracts or assignments is to only do business
with trusted individuals, preferably whom you have met in person
and stick to your usual terms and conditions. Never agree to
accept a larger payment than you have quoted and send the balance
to a third party.
**Remember, if an offer seems too good to be true it generally
is!!
A second possible scam is of someone claiming
to represent AW Photography, a photography company in the USA.
It is unclear what this individual wishes to gain as we are
unaware of any request for payment thus far. The company in
question claims that these individuals are not connected in
any way with them and we have added their response below. If
you have taken this any further or have more information, please
do let us know.
The potential scam goes as follows:
Good day, i came across your advert while surfing the internet
in search of good and qualified photographer. Aw photography
which is the company i represent, is based in the United states.
You can go through their website: www.awphotography.com
With regards to the new innovation that will bring about the
extention of the company which is based in the United State
to the Uk, they will be needing photographers to handle any
photographic job (wedding etc) related to the uk residence.
I have gone through some of your photo works and am impressed.
Do get back to me if you are interested so i can link you with
the company direct. I am more like an agent getting professional
photographers for the company whenever they need one. This is
due to my excellent performance and good records with the company.
Will be waiting to read back from you.
Regards,
Macathy.
The response from AW Photography goes as follows:
We have become aware that someone is using our company name
and information to try to scam others. We are currently pursuing
options to try to bring this to an end and apologize for inconveniences
you are experiencing. Below is our official response to inquiries
about this person.
Official Response to inquiries regarding Anthony Macathy, Leonardo
Macathy, or Mark Woobster.
If anyone should inquire about an individual referred to as
Anthony Macathy, Leonardo Macathy, or Mark Woobster, it is very
important that you let them know the following:
UK photographers are being targeted to launder money and get
ripped of by con merchants.
The scams work roughly as follows
They book you for a wedding. Some scam artists might pose as
a reputable foreign company often steeling their names and setting
up authentic looking email addresses.
They will then send you all the money in advance and often a
few thousand pound extra. The extra few thousand pounds is sent
with instructions asking you to forward the money to other wedding
services such as a decorating service.
The cheque that you receive will be counterfeit and use stolen
identities. If the cheque is a business cheque use the net to
get the company details and check for yourself, they may not
know that their identity has been stolen. If they do not recognise
the name on the cheque or do not have any details or knowledge
of this cheque being drafted please make them aware of your
findings so they can take action and not suffer financially.
Recommend that they also make the police aware.
The scammers are looking to take the money off you before the
cheque is recalled by the bank losing you thousands of pounds.
Hello,
I am Rev. Pastor Edwin Donko, District pastor of International
Central Gospel Church, Greater Accra Region. I got your details
from the UK tourism directory, we will be coming over to Greater
London , our silver jubilee wedding anniversary with family
coming up on the 22th of March but we will be arriving on the
21st of March 2008. I will need the services of a professional
photographer that will cover our entire vacation from the 22th
through to 23th March.
Could you please send me more details about your work and what
the cost of your services for the 2 days coverage will be? ICGC
GHANA will be paying you in advance of our visit as they will
be covering the total expenses for our wedding anniversary so
that we will be assured of a photographer during our stay. An
early reply will be appreciated.
Please acknowledge if you can offer us your services and give
me a call on my direct line (+233-274-767-779 ) as soon as you
receive this email, so we can conclude on all other arrangements
ASAP, as time is not really on our side.
God bless you,
Rev. Pastor Edwin Donko, ICGC GHANA.
Direct Line: +233-274767779
**Remember, if an offer seems too good to be true it generally is!!